Details

Date of arrival
Date of departure
Adults
Sustainability is not a drag.
It’s fuel for innovation

What we do (so far) to move in the right direction

We believe in the power of creativity.

If we want to protect nature as our common living space, our decisions need to be firm and fast. With SOULMADE we’d like to share the passion of finding new solutions to restore balance between us and the planet. Not through sacrifice but through curiosity and creativity.

Our Mission

When is sustainability honest? When you make it a core priority — beyond marketing and certifications. And when you internalize the fact that you’re still one step away from an even better result. Honest sustainability demands constant improvement.

It is a challenge that, to us, can only be answered holistically. Through how we deal with the environment, how we do business but also how we treat our colleagues and friends.

Below you’ll find a small (and hopefully often to be updated) list of things, we already do. Of course, we’re always open for suggestions and input at commitment@soulmade.me

Thomas Schlereth
Founder, SOULMADE

A house that grows back in seven years.

Soulmade is a living space that’s almost entirely made of wood. We planted two trees for every single tree we used to build it. We’re also planting another tree for each guest who books with us direct, so the resources used to build SOULMADE will grow back in about seven years. By adopting this approach, we are taking great strides towards becoming a sustainable company together with our partner Plant for the Planet.

Social responsibility

We are wholehearted and committed members of entrepreneurs for future. Together with Plant for the Planet, we help children learn how to be active players in the campaign for climate justice. We support the German Childhood Cancer Foundation, promote youth and popular sports, and take a clear stand against racism and homophobia.

Product and supply chain

All appliances, products and services are selected upon strict guidelines to support local, natural and fair businesses. Of course, that applies to our own EMMA-Store, too.

Always Beta

We only use renewable energy. Our PV installation with over 170 modules allows us to save over 22,000 kg CO2 annually, and we offer free electric charging stations too. We provide mentorship to sustainable start-ups. We work together on product innovations with students at the Technical University and open our company’s doors for testing purposes. We’ve deliberately decided that we never want to be ‘finished’, which is why we’ve set up an advisory board that challenges our status quo several times a year. This attitude allows us to remain bold and brimming with ideas.

Natural Materials

All of our room modules are clad in local wood (spruce, oak & ash) as well as wallpaper made from straw, with real-hair rugs from goat and sheep. All appliances, products and services are selected upon strict guidelines to support local, natural and fair business.

Construction Process

We managed to produce hotel room modules that are built almost entirely from wood and are shipped completely furnished and pre-stocked, from towels to technology. This way we’re able to massively reduce the inefficient and CO2-laden shipment of empty prefab elements.

Not only do we create a more sustainable building process but also – because of a much shorter building time – a less strenuous one for its direct environment.

Your Mindset?

Become part of our team! We’re more than happy to look at your application, proactive or in relation to one of our job postings.

Career

Details

Ankunftsdatum
Abreisedatum
Erwachsene

Nachhaltigkeit ist keine Bremse,
sondern Innovationskraft.

Was wir (jetzt schon) tun, um etwas zu bewegen.

Wir glauben an die Macht der Kreativität.

Wenn wir die Natur als unseren gemeinsamen Lebensraum erhalten wollen, ist unser bestimmtes und schnelles Handeln unabdingbar. Deshalb wollen wir mit SOULMADE die Freude an sinnvollen Alternativen vermitteln, wie wir gemeinsam mit Mensch und Planet umgehen können. Nicht mit Verzicht, sondern mit Neugier auf neue Lösungen.

Unsere Mission

Wann ist Nachhaltigkeit eigentlich ehrlich?

Wenn man es zu einem Kernelement seines Geschäfts macht – jenseits von Marketing und Zertifizierungen. Und wenn man sich selbst eingesteht, dass man immer noch einen Schritt von einem besseren Ergebnis entfernt ist. Wer ehrlich nachhaltig sein will, muss sich stetig weiterentwickeln.

Nachhaltigkeit ist für uns ein Begriff, der nur ganzheitlich definiert werden kann. Von der Art und Weise, wie wir mit unserer Umwelt umgehen, wie wir wirtschaften aber genauso wie wir unsere Kollegen und Freunde behandeln.

Hier finden Sie eine kleine (und hoffentlich noch oft aktualisierte) Zusammenfassung der Dinge, die wir jetzt schon tun. Über Ideen und Anregungen freuen wir uns übrigens immer unter sustainability@soulmadehotels.com

Thomas Schlereth
Founder, SOULMADE

Ein Haus, das in 7 Jahren nachwächst.

Soulmade ist ein Lebensort fast komplett aus Holz. Für jeden Baum, den wir zum Bau verwendet haben – haben wir zwei Bäume gepflanzt. Zusätzlich wird je ein weiterer Baum für jeden Direktbucher gepflanzt. So kann ein SOULMADE in ca. sieben Jahre nachwachsen. Mit unserem Partner „Plant for a Planet“  schaffen wir somit große Schritte hin zu einem nachhaltigen Unternehmen.

Gesellschaftliche Verantwortung

Wir sind überzeugte Mitglieder bei entrepreneurs for future. Zusammen mit Plant for the Planet helfen wir Kindern, in Sachen Klimagerechtigkeit einen Aktivismus zu erlernen. Wir unterstützen die Kinderkrebsstiftung, fördern Jugend- und Breitensport  und beziehen klar Stellung geben Rassismus und Homophobie.

Produkt- und Lieferkette

Alle Geräte, Produkte und Service-Dienstleister werden nach striktem Regelwerk ausgewählt, mit dem Fokus, lokale, natürliche und faire Unternehmen zu bevorzugen. Das gilt natürlich auch für unseren hauseigenen EMMA-Store.

Always Beta

Wir verwenden ausschließlich erneuerbare Energie. Durch unsere PV-Anlage mit über 170 Modulen, sparen wir jährlich über 22.000kg CO2 ein und wir bieten kostenfreie E-Ladestationen an. Wir stellen uns nachhaltigen Start Ups sowohl als Mentoren zur Verfügung, wie auch das Haus für den Test nachhaltiger Produktinnovationen genutzt werden kann. Aber wir sind nie fertig, deshalb haben wir ein Advisory-Board gegründet, die mehrmals im Jahr unseren Status Quo herausfordern.

Natürliche Materialien

All unsere Zimmer sind aus lokalen Hölzern gefertigt (Fichte, Eiche und Esche), im Inneren findet man neben Stroh-Tapeten u.A. Echthaar-Teppiche von Ziegen und Schafen. Alle Produkte werden nach striktem Regelwerk ausgewählt, mit dem Fokus, lokale, natürliche und faire Unternehmen zu bevorzugen.

Unser Bauprozess

Durch die maximal vorgefertigten Holzmodule, die in Serie produziert werden, ist es uns gelungen, den Bauprozess nicht nur weniger invasiv zu gestalten und stark zu beschleunigen, sondern gleichzeitig auch eine äußerst effiziente und emissionsarme Energiebilanz zu erreichen.

Dein Mindset?

Werde Teil unseres Teams. Wir freuen uns über deine Bewerbung, initiativ oder auf eine der ausgeschriebenen Stellen.

Karriere